Path tracing 101

Starting easy.
tuomlarsen

Path tracing 101

Postby tuomlarsen » Thu Nov 01, 2012 9:23 am

Hello!

I'm totally new to all this, please bear with me: I implemented my first path tracer, it only uses spheres and needs to shoot *a lot* of rays to see something at all when the light source is small. Now I would like to add some features which are considered "essential" but I have many questions about them:

(I'm interested in simple features, i.e. I know I can get better rendering from MLT and what not but such thing are currently totally over my head, so, I'm going through this step by step....)

- Camera. What is a "pin hole camera"? Why can't I just shoot rays into scene from screen pixels in the camera direction?

- Tone mapping. Do I need it? If I were to use "linear" tone mapping isn't it the same as using weaker light source? If I understand it correctly, it is kind of auto-exposure technique - doesn't it create problem, say, when I want to render under-exposed picture?

- Acceleration structure. I would like to add triangle primitive so I guess this is by far the most "essential" feature. I saw many articles on which one to choose and the all differ in conclusions :). So, if my scenes are static and I want to keep things simple, which one should I try? BVH, KD-Tree, Octree, something else?

- Light. I saw at http://kevinbeason.com/smallpt/#mods that adding "explicit light sampling" speed-up the rendering considerably. As the source code for it is a bit unreadable for me - what is it? Are there any tutorials or articles about it? I guess this is the other "essential" feature next to the acceleration structure, right? How does it work - when a light bounces off a surfaces I just randomly choose whether I go somewhere else or towards a light?