Google Draco

Practical and theoretical implementation discussion.
dr_eck
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:35 pm

Google Draco

Postby dr_eck » Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:09 am

Is anyone considering implementing Google Draco in a renderer? It's code for compressing meshes. Here's a link: https://github.com/google/draco

Steve

papaboo
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: Google Draco

Postby papaboo » Mon Mar 27, 2017 11:55 am

What do you mean by 'in a renderer'? As datamodel pre-/postprocessing? Or actually uploading the compressed data and decompress on the fly? (if such a thing is possible)

dr_eck
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:35 pm

Re: Google Draco

Postby dr_eck » Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:06 pm

Thanks for responding; I was beginning to wonder if the board was comatose. My understanding is that that Draco is aimed at compressing 3D models. A simple application of this might be to decrease the time it takes to load a large model from storage. It may or may not be possible to use this compression to save GPU memory and/or transfers. My primary aim was just to start a discussion and see what others think of the technology, if it is even on the radar.

Steve

papaboo
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: Google Draco

Postby papaboo » Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:00 am

The forum isn't dead, just really quiet. Like a lion on the hunt. :)
Personally I can say that Draco's in my backlog and will stay there for the foreseeable future, since it doesn't really help my shoot those precious precious rays. :)
I doubt that the compression would work for on GPU memory, but if you're interested there are other compressions out there Google Quirin Meyer for a couple of papers on compressing positions and normals.

toxie
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:30 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Google Draco

Postby toxie » Tue Mar 28, 2017 2:32 pm

making the transfer faster is pretty hard nowadays in the age of SSDs and fast GPU connections.
and decompressing on the fly is not the target of the draco library, so for this one needs something else that allows better/faster random access.
Better you leave here with your head still full of kitty cats and puppy dogs.

toxie
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:30 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Google Draco

Postby toxie » Tue Mar 28, 2017 2:37 pm

Also note this for more info: https://github.com/google/draco/blob/ma ... oder.h#L27
Plus also note that its lossy compression (at least thats what i only saw).
Better you leave here with your head still full of kitty cats and puppy dogs.

papaboo
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: Google Draco

Postby papaboo » Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:59 pm

Well if it's lossy then it's irrelevant. The edgebreaker compression is lossless though. It simply compresses the topology / connectivity and I seriously doubt anyone would consider lossy topology compression. High-res-CAD-model-in, swizz-cheese-model-out would be a no go.

toxie
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:30 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Google Draco

Postby toxie » Thu Mar 30, 2017 11:28 am

Maybe you can set it to lossless, too? I only saw lossy so far. But it should not lead to holes as long as you base your quantization on the vertices themselves (so no diffs), but again, i haven't looked at what they do exactly in great detail.
Better you leave here with your head still full of kitty cats and puppy dogs.


Return to “General Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests